Hi - my name is Sebastian! Nice to see you here.

my history

I am currently a PhD Student at the Technische Hochschule Nuernberg cooperating with the Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen (FAU). If you do not come from Germany it might confusing to have two alme matres but the university system here has 4 tiers. If you’re at one of the lower two tiers you have to work together with a university that belongs to the top two tiers.

I am an academic late bloomer and only picked up my Bachelor studies at age 26 and got my Bachelor’s from the University of Applied Sciences Rosenheim in 2016 in Business Informatics and my Master’s in Computer Science in 2018. After that I started working on my PhD.

I am from Germany and grew up in the county of Rosenheim, which is just about 40km south of Munich. The area around Rosenheim is my home and the place were I was born and raised. It’s a lovely area with mountains and lakes that give you the opportunity to enjoy the outdoors in many ways. And if you’re tired of the region it’s only a 3.5 h drive to the north of Lago di Garda in Italy or 5 hours to the north west coast of Croatia.

research

I am interested in all kinds of speech and specifically speech recogniton related topics. My PhD project is about monitoring of pathological speech with a special regard to privacy. If you think you have something interesting or want to cooperate on a project just let me know. The topics I am most interested in random order are:

  • speech recognition
  • pathological speech
  • maschine learning
  • deep learning
  • software engineering for ML/DL applications

personal

I love hiking and other outdoor related activities. I am usually instantly happy when I get the chance to spend a couple of hours outdoors. Beside hiking I enjoy bouldering and rock climbing in the gym as well as outdoors. Just recently I picked up yoga and try to make it a habbit to find more balance to all the computer stuff. I travel as often as time allows even if it’s just for a couple of days. In the last couple of years I especially enjoyed travelling south east Asia. Travelling inspires me to try new food and drinks and motivates me to cook myself. My wine, whisky and beer cellar is always full and I consider myself a connoisseur.